Let’s be honest. Whenever I’ve been note-making in lectures and indeed throughout my schooling career they only served that temporary purpose. They were never again to be looked at outside of that session, and when revision time loomed, said messy notes were an absolute no-go. I mean why would you force yourself to struggle through barely legible bullet points from September when there are perfectly clear PowerPoints to access on the student Virtual Learning Environment? Exactly, you wouldn’t. So such note-making was arguably pointless. Last year I even decided to use a Word document to take notes in typed form but even then going through it I find it a subpar poor man’s lecture slide with only a fraction of the information. I mean you’re hardly going to type out exactly what you see on the screen because that is a waste of time. And evidently I didn’t. I just have frequent mentions of “good slide on Keats” (our VLE) to let me know that the bog-standard sentence preceding it, was covered in more depth and clarity online so a reminder to check that out. The whole idea of taking notes during lectures therefore sounds more useful than it actually ends up being. Personally, I do not wish to sit in silence, with an empty desk, smiling at the lecturer as though I’m at the worlds most tragic excuse for a theatre production. No, one has to be doing something. I’m not the kind to be Facebooking on my laptop, or shopping from ASOS, so what does that leave me?

Lecture Diaries.

A hopefully not so sad but rather, engaging, enlightening summary of the week in lectures. From the strange to the silly, the amazement to the anecdotes, I am hopeful that “critical discourse analysis in electronic media and theories & praxis of language teaching to both native & non-native English language speakers” will provide just that. But then again, maybe not.

